Romance and True Love


I have always been one of those girls that believed that romance was roses, candle-lit dinners, chivalry and so forth. Unfortunately TheBoyfriend has never been one of those people who is interested in doing that and it has grilled me to no end. I guess its because I believed that to be “grown ups” we needed to be like one of those elegant couples that you always see on TV – drinking red wine out of the most exquisite crystal wine glasses, exotic food cooked to perfection, and a-wooden-floors-and-granite-tops house where not one thing is out of place.

But TheBoyfriend and I are not so restrained, really. We like to giggle like teenage girls, we act like naughty children, we live life to the full, we play tricks on each other, we fart and burp in front of each other… and rate it. We are not one of those couples you see in the movies and on TV. Sometimes I regret it, other times I am glad that we are so carefree and not disturbed by these couples that seem to have the life, but in fact theirs is breaking apart. Surely, TheBoyfriend and my relationship is not perfect either – sometimes its downright disastrous, but he knows my buttons, and somehow makes me laugh and I cannot be angry anymore.

So I have decided to try to stop thinking on the way things should be in my head, and appreciate and accept the way things are now in my life. TheBoyfriend is one of a kind – as a paramedic, he saved my life when I was 15. As a police reservist he protects my family and yours when he goes on shift, putting himself in the line of danger to provide safety for others. As a friend he is someone you can depend upon to call at 3am, and he will arrive before anyone else does. And as a boyfriend he tries to keep every single thing that can harm me away from me, my happiness comes before his, his arms feel like heaven when we snuggle, and most of all – He. Is. MINE.

He always secretly smiles and laughs when I lecture his dog, threatening to stick my finger up its nose if he doesnt relax, he admires my bum (which is dotted with stretch marks and cellulite), he thinks I am beautiful even if he doesnt find the words to say so, he will change his plans to be able to come with me to mine, and he knows the Real me – and accepts me as I am, even with all my flaws and temper tantrums.

So stuff the “old-school” romance! Tonight at dinner, TheBoyfriend was pouring me the last of the water from a jug that had had mint leaves in it to give the water more flavour. He swished the water around in the jug so that the water would have more of a minty taste, and then carefully pured out every single last drop of water into my glass. Lastly, he tore off a sprig of mint and placed it in my cup, along with a kiss on my lips.
The way he went through so much effort instead of just pouring the water into my glass means a whole lot more to me than just buying me flowers. He then proceeded to tell his 10 year old cousin that I had syphilis, and the general conversation at the Jewish-whole-family(27people)-at-Friday-night-dinner then turned to sexually transmitted diseases. As TheBoyfriend said about crabs “these certainly don’t come with a lemon-butter sauce”. We all groaned good-naturedly.

This boy is amazing!

Me and my boy.

 I adore this child of mine.

 Bad Boy!

 True Loves Kiss

 Fooling around with Halloween (or was it Purim) ideas

 I baked a cake for him on his birthday and dropped it off at midnight at his work during his night shift.

And lastly, because TheBoyfriend is my “Everything” – Michael Buble wrote this for me to give to you:
You’re a falling star, you’re the get away car.
You’re the line in the sand when I go too far.
You’re the swimming pool, on an August day.
And you’re the perfect thing to say.

And you play it coy but it’s kinda cute.
Ah, when you smile at me you know exactly what you do.
Baby don’t pretend that you don’t know it’s true.
’cause you can see it when I look at you.

[Chorus:]
And in this crazy life, and through these crazy times
It’s you, it’s you, you make me sing.
You’re every line, you’re every word, you’re everything.

You’re a carousel, you’re a wishing well,
And you light me up, when you ring my bell.
You’re a mystery, you’re from outer space,
You’re every minute of my everyday.

And I can’t believe, uh that I’m your man,
And I get to kiss you baby just because I can.
Whatever comes our way, ah we’ll see it through,
And you know that’s what our love can do.

[Chorus]

So, la, la, la, la, la, la, la
So, la, la, la, la, la, la, la

[Chorus:]
And in this crazy life, and through these crazy times
It’s you, it’s you, you make me sing.
You’re every line, you’re every word, you’re everything.
You’re every song, and I sing along.
‘Cause you’re my everything.
Yeah, yeah

So, la, la, la, la, la, la, la
So, la, la, la, la, la, la, la

Love. Cybelle

Leave a Reply

