Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)


Dear Daughtry,

You have been around for nearly 5 years, and within those years, I have gained such extreme insight from your songs, that inspire me to great heights.

Ironically, this day of the 30day meme is immediately after I saw you at your concert last night – your last tour date in Johannesburg, South Africa. And how #TheBoyfriend and I swayed to your songs that we used to sing in the car, which was now being sung live in front of us. I felt that you were singing to me. #TheBoyfriend was not impressed by how in love I fell with you over again, but he understands how much of a place you have in my heart.

Please, feel special. I am not one of those people who is  infatuated by music. It is not something I couldn’t live without (tragic I know). When I am asked who is my favourite artist, it will usually depend on the song, but I love so many songs from you, so I guess that would make you my favourite artist. Your songs have taught me so many things, and have allowed me to release my emotions in time of happiness and sadness. For example:

From What About Now – you told me that “Love will find you.

What about now?
What about today?
What if you’re making me all that I was meant to be?
What if our love never went away?
What if it’s lost behind words we could never find?
Baby, before it’s too late,
What about now?

The sun is breaking in your eyes
To start a new day.
This broken heart can still survive
With a touch of your grace.
Shadows fade into the light.
I am by your side,
Where love will find you.”

And sure, I found love! Or “lobe” as we call it 🙂 And love found me, when #TheBoyfriend was the paramedic who assisted me when I collapsed. He found me.

I think this one is for Marco, from Over You – “‘Cause the day I thought I’d never get through,
I got over you.
And when you slammed the front door shut,
A lot of others opened up,
So did my eyes so I could see
That you never were the best for me.”

The matter in which 2 men fought for my heart had a devastating effect on me. Once all was said and done, and Marco was removed from my life, I saw from am unbiased perspective how he was never the one for me, and that the man who was, was slipping away because of my stupidity. Yet I learnt my lesson. I am OVER YOU!

And for my darling #TheBoyfriend you told me from Home – “The miles are getting longer, it seems,
The closer I get to you.
I’ve not always been the best man or friend for you.
But your love, it makes true.
And I don’t know why.
You always seem to give me another try.

So I’m going home,
Back to the place where I belong,
And where your love has always been enough for me.
I’m not running from.
No, I think you got me all wrong.
I don’t regret this life I chose for me.
But these places and these faces are getting old,
So I’m going home.
I’m going home.”

Your song Used To is one of my absolute favourites. It usually makes me cry, and it reminds me of the time things with #TheBoyfriend were not going so well, and Marco arrived.  “We used to have this figured out;
We used to breathe without a doubt.
When nights were clear, you were the first star that I’d see.
We used to have this under control.
We never thought.
We used to know.
At least there’s you, and at least there’s me.
Can we get this back?
Can we get this back to how it used to be?

I look around me,
And I want you to be there
‘Cause I miss the things that we shared.
Look around you.
It’s empty, and you’re sad
‘Cause you miss the love that we had.”

We “used to” do many things, and we lost our connection. It became frazzled, like the dial on a  radio that you turn for your radio station’s signal? The one that is so sensitive that one movement can move the sweet melodious music, into monotonous static.

And then again from Its Not Over, when #TheBoyfriend and I attempted to patch things up “Let’s start over.
I’ll try to do it right this time around.
It’s not over.
‘Cause a part of me is dead and in the ground.
This love is killing me,
But you’re the only one.
It’s not over.

Taken all I could take,
And I cannot wait.
We’re wasting too much time
Being strong, holding on.
Can’t let it bring us down.
My life with you means everything,
So I won’t give up that easily.
I’ll blow it away, blow it away.
Can we make this something good?
‘Cause it’s all misunderstood.
Well, I’ll try to do it right this time around.”

And so we started over! Perhaps not on a slate that can ever be clean of our doings, but one that begins with forgiveness.

And Sorry – for I truly was, and you depicted perfectly how “All the words that I come up with
They’re like gasoline on flames
There’s no excuse, no explanation
Believe me if I could undo what I did wrong
I’d give away all that I own

If I told you I’ve been cleanin’ my soul
And If I promise you I’ll regain control
Will you open your door
And let me in take me for who I am
And not for who I’ve been, who I’ve been”

Remeber #TheBoyfriend when we first started dating? How everyone told us that we would NEVER last? Well, baby, we have made it to 5 years! And so from What I Want you reflected for me – “I still remember all the stupid things that I’ve said and done,
But still, you stuck around with me when all your friends said, “Run!”
Givin’ me a name, I found myself inside all the flames.
Becoming everything for you again.”

Five years on, with you and #TheBoyfriend, we made it through 🙂 You made it famous through Idols, and I – well I’m simply just fabulous 🙂

Love.Cybelle

P.S – and if you read this, please send me an autograph 🙂

Day 01 → Something you hate about yourself
Day 02 → Something you love about yourself
Day 03 → Something you have to forgive yourself for.
Day 04 → Something you have to forgive someone for.
Day 05 → Something you hope to do in your life.
Day 06 → Something you hope you never have to do.
Day 07 → Someone who has made your life worth living for.
Day 08 → Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.
Day 09 → Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.
Day 10 → Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.
Day 11 → Something people seem to compliment you the most on.
Day 12 → Something you never get compliments on.
Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)
Day 14 → A hero that has let you down. (letter)
Day 15 → Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it.
Day 16 → Someone or something you definitely could live without.
Day 17 → A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.
Day 18 → Your views on gay marriage.
Day 19 → What do you think of religion? Or what do you think of politics?
Day 20 → Your views on drugs and alcohol.
Day 21 → (scenario) Your best friend is in a car accident and you two got into a fight an hour before. What do you do?
Day 22 → Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.
Day 23 → Something you wish you had done in your life.
Day 24 → Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. (Just post the titles and artists and letter)
Day 25 → The reason you believe you’re still alive today.
Day 26 → Have you ever thought about giving up on life? If so, when and why?
Day 27 → What’s the best thing going for you right now?
Day 28 → What if you were pregnant or got someone pregnant, what would you do?
Day 29 → Something you hope to change about yourself. And why.
Day 30 → A letter to yourself, tell yourself EVERYTHING you love about yourself

Leave a Reply

