About Changing the World…


During nightshift, I was speaking to a nursing colleague of mine.

We were discussing how seemingly unfair life was, for I had just delivered a 29 week old fetus who had died in utero. We wondered why some babies had to die and others didn’t, and that it just didn’t fit into the Circle of Life.

We discussed how to change the world.

I found the story she told me incredibly profound, and it has stayed with me ever since. Her utmost honesty, and raw concern is so touching.

“When I was in primary school, I dreamed about changing the world. My imagination ran wild, and I spent days thinking about how I can improve the whole world and make a difference.

But then I went to highschool, and it placed limitations on my imagination and I dreamed about changing my country.

When I entered the ‘real world’ I again became limited by people’s constraints. And I dreamed about changing my people.

But when my people did’t change, I realized I cannot hope to change my people, and certainly not the world.

I knew I could only change myself.

And I hoped that when I changed myself for the good, that the people around me would see a change, and be inspired to change themselves for the better, and that it would eventually change my people and then my country, and then the world.

Change begins from within, If we do not set a good example to others, we cannot hope to single-handedly change the world”

Profound, huh?

[Images taken off Google]

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lindy on July 17, 2011 at 19:59

    Some souls only need 29 weeks to complete ther journey..others need a day 23years or 94 years. But if a soul chooses you to be the vessel for that short journey you should feel honoured..I know I do

    Reply

  2. Inspiring Post 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

